Skip to main content
Digital Transformation

ITIL 2011 vs ITIL 4 and why ITIL4 is the best framework for the ITSM in the world

By January 14, 2021October 25th, 2021No Comments

While implementing and providing ITIL training for the past 7 years, I reached the point where I thought that ITIL is not more applicable for the current market, due to the old methodology which was in ITIL3 and 2011Things in information technology are changing rapidly, but ITIL was still working in the same way for more than 12 years.

It came out the time of the iphone in 2007, but things after the iphone were not like it was before.
This is why I want to talk in this video about the differences between ITIL 2011 and ITIL4, and why ITIL4 is the best and excellent Service Management Framework currently available.

I will start by talking about ITIL history.

ITIL was created in the 1980s by the UK government CCTA (Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency).

ITIL V2, released in 2000/2001, consolidated a large amount of ITIL guidance produced so far into nine publications.

In 2007 version 3 if ITIL was published. These publications were updated in 2011, taking into account feedback from the user and training community.

ITIL 4: A holistic approach was published by AXELOS in February 2019.

ITIL was developed by the UK government in the 1980s
The OGC (Office Of Government Commerce ) developed a framework for efficient and financially responsible use of IT resources
ITIL was quickly adopted by the private sector
AXELOS now owns and manages ITIL
AXELOS authorizes examination institutes who accredit training organizations

ITIL is a common framework for the management of all IT activities.

Companies can use it to implement best practice in their IT organization.

ITIL helps IT to align with business goals and the customers they serve.

ITIL v3 and ITIL 2011 was focusing on the Service Lifecycle, so it was difficult to be implemented in some of the companies. It worked in the waterfall methodology, which is no more applicable solution for modern IT Service Management. Other frameworks like AGILE, LEAN, DevOps was not supported.

Let us talk now about the differences between ITIL v3 2011 and ITIL4.

ITIL V3’s main approach was the Service Lifecycle, which consists of five stages and is based on a waterfall model. Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and CSI

The old version of the ITIL Framework was only considering IT Enabled Services; ITIL 4 is considering and can be applied to any type of service. This is an exceptional change because now whatever inventions come out there, ITIL will still be applicable. As we said before, using the service Value System gives the SP more freedom to design tailor-made processes that work for the organization.

ITIL 2011 was focusing on creating value by delivering it from the Service Provider. •ITIL4 changes this approach, and it is now not only the SP responsibility, but it is actually a means of value co-creation between the SP, Regulators and Consumer.

ITIL 2011 was not considering other frameworks, where ITIL4 introduced AGILE, SCUM, DEVOPS and LEAN… As well as talking about many other methodologies and frameworks in the official publication, where you can use them for example: Kanban, Cynefin Framework, Toyota kata, Chaos Monkey…etc.

We have 26 processes of ITIL V3, they are now replaced by 34 practices in ITIL V4.

The processes in ITIL 2011 was mandatory, so they are included in the examination and you have to study them very well. But in ITIL4 they are mentioned and described but they are not included in the syllabus… especially in the Intermediate certification.

ITIL4 is focusing now more on the know-how, not what to use. This means you don’t have to go through each practice and study it for the exam; the important is to co-create value.

ITIL2011 we have 9 Guiding Principles, and in ITIL4 they are decreased to 7 Guiding Principles. ITIL 2011 has 4 P’s (People, Partner, Product and Process), in ITIL4 we have Four Dimensions –Organizations and people –Information and technology –Partners and suppliers –Value streams and processes.

The certification in ITIL 2011 is a long journey and a little difficult.

The certification in ITIL 4 is easier and shorter.  The Publication of ITIL 2011 was 5 Publications + Foundation book with more than 2300 Pages in total.

 In ITIL4, we also have 5 Publications + Foundation book with less than 1500 pages in total.

The old version of the ITIL Framework was only considering IT Enabled Services, ITIL 4 is considering and can be applied to any type of services, this is an intelligent change, because now what ever inventions coming out their, ITIL will still be applicable for it.

ITIL has led the ITSM industry with guidance, training, and certification programmers for more than 30 years.
I can say that ITIL 4 is being reshaped 360 Degree.
ITIL 4 brings ITIL up to date by re-shaping much of the established ITSM practices in the wider context of customer experience, value streams, and digital transformation, as well as embracing new ways of working, such as Lean, Agile, and DevOps.

samir faraj

Experienced, motivated, and results-oriented Managing Business Consultant with more than +16 years of proven achievements in information technology and Business Management.Certified ITIL 2011 EXPERT, ITIL 4 ® MANAGING PROFESSIONAL, ITIL EXPERT. Certified TOGAF 9.1, COBIT 5 FOUNDATION, CLOUD COMPUTING, ISO9001, ISO27001, EXECUTIVE MANAGEMENT

Leave a Reply